Lewandowski headlines but Linetty, Klich not in Poland World Cup squad

By Sports Desk November 10, 2022 611

Robert Lewandowski headlines Poland's squad for Qatar 2022, but there is no room for Karol Linetty nor Mateusz Klich among Czeslaw Michniewicz's 26-man squad.

Barcelona attacker Lewandowski will head to his fifth major tournament and second appearance at the World Cup, where he will skipper his country.

He is joined by fellow veterans Grzegorz Krychowiak and Kamil Glik, the latter of whom will hope to join him in the 100-cap club for Poland during the tournament having already amassed 98.

But Torino midfielder Linetty is a casualty of the fierce competition for places, with the 42-cap man missing the cut altogether.

He is joined by a pair of Premier League absentees in Leeds United's Klich and Brighton and Hove Albion's Jakub Moder, with the latter missing out through injury.

Maciej Rybus meanwhile remains in exile following his move to Spartak Moscow in June, having been blacklisted from the international team over his switch to the Russian club following the country's invasion of Ukraine.

There are no uncapped players among the squad, though both Clermont defender Mateusz Wieteska and Lech Poznan midfielder Michal Skoras will hope to add to their solitary international appearances.

Poland will kick off their campaign in Group C against Mexico on November 22, before they face Saudi Arabia and Argentina.

Poland squad:

Wojciech Szczesny (Juventus), Bartlomiej Dragowski (Spezia), Lukasz Skorupski (Bologna); Jan Bednarek (Aston Villa), Kamil Glik (Benevento), Robert Gumny (Augsburg), Artur Jedrzejczyk (Legia Warsaw), Jakub Kiwior (Spezia), Mateusz Wieteska (Clermont), Bartosz Bereszynski (Sampdoria), Matty Cash (Aston Villa), Nicola Zalewski (Roma); Krystian Bielik (Birmingham City), Przemyslaw Frankowski (Lens), Kamil Grosicki (Pogon Szczecin), Grzegorz Krychowiak (Al-Shabab), Jakub Kaminski (Wolfsburg), Michal Skoras (Lech Poznan), Damian Szymanski (AEK Athens), Sebastian Szymanski (Feyenoord), Piotr Zielinski (Napoli), Szymon Zurkowski (Fiorentina); Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona), Arkadiusz Milik (Juventus), Krzysztof Piatek (Salernitana), Karol Swiderski (Charlotte FC).

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Last modified on Thursday, 10 November 2022 12:41
© 2023 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.