Former West Indies all-rounder Deandra Dottin returned to form with an excellent display to help the Barmy Army Women secure a narrow 17-run win over Warriors Women in their FairBreak Invitational T20 game at the Kowloon Cricket Club in Hong Kong on Sunday.

First, Dottin smashed an impressive seven sixes as well as three fours on her way to a top score of 69 off 48 balls to help the Barmy Army post 163-6 from their 20 overs after losing the toss.

Bangladesh’s Rumana Ahmed chipped in with 37 as Scotland’s Kathryn Bryce took 2-24 off her four overs for the Warriors.

Dottin’s form with the bat then carried over to the bowling crease where she bowled three economical overs, conceding just nine runs and picking up a pair of wickets including that of current West Indies captain Hayley Matthews who made 28.

Bryce top scored with a 26-ball 45 as the Warriors were dismissed for 146 from their 20 overs.

Deandra Dottin’s return to the field of play did not go as planned as her Barmy Army Women suffered a four-wicket defeat at the hands of Spirit Women in their FairBreak Invitational tussle at the Kowloon Cricket Club in Hong Kong on Monday.

Spirit Women won the toss and elected to field first, restricting Barmy Army Women to 135-5 off their 20 overs.

West Indian Shemaine Campbelle top-scored with 33* off 25 balls while Kavisha Egodage made 30 and captain Lauren Winfield-Hill 22.

Dottin, who controversially missed the recently concluded WPL, made eight as Mahika Gaur and Betty Chan took two wickets each.

Then, thanks to 40* from captain Nicola Carey and 35 from Sophia Dunkley, Spirit Women needed juts 18.2 overs to reach 138-6.

Tara Norris took 2-34 off her four overs while Rumana Ahmed took 2-21 from her four. Dottin also bowled her full quota of overs, finishing with 1-33.

West Indies Women all-rounder, Hayley Matthews, produced a fine display to help the Warriors Women secure a 54-run win over Deandra Dottin’s Barmy Army Women in the FairBreak Invitational T20 tournament at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in the UAE on Thursday.

Matthews first struck a well-played 52 off 35 balls to help the Warriors post 156-6 off their 20 overs after the Barmy Army won the toss and elected to field first.

She wasn’t the star of the day with the bat, however, as South African Mignon Du Preez shone with an excellent 75 not out off 54 balls including six fours and three sixes.

Dottin took 1-11 off two overs for the Barmy Army before leaving the field with a slight injury.

Matthews then returned to pick up 2-3 off three overs to combine with Sri Lanka’s Udeshika Prabodhani (2-17 off two overs) and restrict Barmy Army Women to 102-8 off their 20 overs.

Pakistanis Fatima Sana (34) and Rumana Ahmed (26 not out) were the top scorers for the Barmy Army Women.

Warriors Women finish their tournament with one win from five games, while the Barmy Army Women will now move on to the semi-finals alongside Spirit Women, Tornadoes Women and Falcons Women.


Deandra Dottin’s 80 not out proved to be insufficient to prevent her Barmy Army Women from going down by eight wickets to Falcons Women in the FairBreak Invitational T20 Tournament, at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, in the UAE on Friday.

The hard-hitting West Indian’s innings came off just 59 balls and included 12 fours and two sixes.

Dottin, alongside England captain Heather Knight (20) and South Africa’s Laura Wolvaardt (17), helped Barmy Army Women get to 152-3 off their 20 overs.

The Falcons then needed only 17.3 overs to get to 156-2 thanks to 76 not out off 49 balls from captain Danni Wyatt.

Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu and West Indian Britney Cooper were the next best scorers with 41 and 32 not out, respectively.

The 2022 FairBreak Invitational is taking place in Dubai and is an ICC-sanctioned tournament. The inaugural edition of the competition organized by Cricket Hong Kong will comprise six teams that will have players from across the globe.

The first match was played on May 4 while May 9 and May 13 will be rest days. Both the semi-finals are slated to be played on May 14, while the third-place playoff and the final will be held on May 15.

There will be six teams that will be taking part in the inaugural season and there will be ninety players from 36 countries who will feature in the competition. Among these, 40 come from ICC full members and 50 from associate members.

Stafanie Taylor, Hayley Matthews, Deandra Dottin, Britney Cooper, Shemaine Campbelle, and Shamilia Connell are the West Indians participating.


© 2023 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.