The Windward Islands Volcanoes completed a dominant 181-run win over the Jamaica Scorpions on Saturday’s day four at the Providence Stadium in Guyana.

Jamaica entered day four on the brink of defeat and only one ball was needed on Saturday as Shermon Lewis dismissed Nicholson Gordon for two to complete his fourth five-wicket haul in first-class cricket and secure the win for the Windwards, with Jamaica being bowled out for 233 in 99.1 overs.

Scores: Windward Islands Volcanoes 217 off 60.3 overs (Alick Athanaze 81, Justin Greaves 50, Derval Green 5-30, Nicholson Gordon 2-26, Jamie Merchant 2-39) and 300 off 78.5 overs (Alick Athanaze 97, Kavem Hodge 82, Justin Greaves 33, Patrick Harty 3-63, Marquino Mindley 2-45, Nicholson Gordon 2-59)

Jamaica Scorpions 101 off 28.3 overs (Derval Green 33, Jamie Merchant 24, Justin Greaves 6-34, Shermon Lewis 2-29, Ryan John 2-38) and 233 off 99 overs (Aldane Thomas 55, Abhijai Mansingh 50, Derval Green 48, Shermon Lewis 5-22, Justin Greaves 2-42, Larry Edward 2-65).



Guyana Under-13 boys went down to Trinidad and Tobago under-13 by nine wickets in the opening encounter of the Bilateral/Goodwill series on Sunday at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence.  

T&T restricted Guyana to just 43 in 26.4 overs after winning the toss and choosing to field. T&T bowling was led by Shaan Ramtahal, who finished with figures of 3 for 7 off 1.4 overs. Tyler Ramroop ended with figures of 2-5 off 5 miserly overs, Brian Harricharan took 2-6 off 3 overs, while Mikaeel Ali, Ra ed Ali Khan and Jordan Julien had a wicket each.

A revised target of 38 was set due to rain stoppage, and T&T reached the total in 10 overs with the loss of only one wicket. The wicket to fall was Captain and opening batsman Zakarriya Mohamed who stroked an entertaining 23 off just 27 balls. Guyana Captain Brandon Henry dismissed his counterpart with the score on 32.

The series includes four (4) One-Day, 40-Overs matches. Sunday’s game marks the first-ever first Bilateral Under-13 tour to Guyana, initiated by the two board presidents, Bissoondyal Singh (GCB) and Azim Bassarath (TTCB). The three (3) remaining matches will also be played at the Providence stadium on December 13, 15 and 17.

© 2023 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.