Robbie Kruse inspired Melbourne Victory to a thumping 4-0 home win over A-League strugglers Newcastle Jets on Sunday.

Victory took the lead in just the ninth minute at AAMI Park, Kruse racing on to a clever pass in behind the defence from Leigh Broxham and squeezing his finish past goalkeeper Glen Moss.

The A-League's bottom side were able to hold Victory at bay for the rest of the first half but the points were safe for the hosts within 20 minutes of the restart.

Migjen Basha marked his 33rd birthday with the second goal and his first strike for Victory, tucking in the rebound after Moss could only parry a drive from Kruse back into the danger zone.

Kruse was proving impossible to stop and, when he raided down the right channel to pick out Andrew Nabbout with a cutback, the ex-Jets attacker slammed in a low drive but refused to celebrate against his old club.

To make matters worse for a poor Jets side, Victory made it 4-0 in the closing stages when a cross from Anthony Lesiotis was turned into his own goal by defender Matthew Millar.

A second straight win for Victory after their surprise derby success away to Melbourne City lifts Marco Kurz's side to seventh in the A-League.

Robbie Kruse scored his first A-League goal since 2011 to fire Melbourne Victory to a 1-0 win over Perth Glory that lifts them above their opponents into sixth.

Kruse, making his first start since rejoining the club in July after eight years away, tapped in from a few yards out with 33 minutes played for what proved to be the only goal of Friday's game at AAMI Park.

Neil Kilkenny went close with a long-range attempt, but Kruse soon found a way through up the other end after being teed up by Andrew Nabbout.

Glory had lost just one of their last 18 away league matches and nearly kept that record intact as Bruno Fornaroli rattled the post five minutes into the second half.

A good chance also came and went for Alex Grant, whose looping header skimmed the crossbar on its way over, as Victory held on for a first win in five matches.

© 2020 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.