Pieters the master in Prague once again

By Sports Desk August 18, 2019

Thomas Pieters became the first player to win the Czech Masters twice after securing a one-shot triumph in Prague on Sunday.

Having claimed the lead with an impressive third round of 66, the Belgian held his nerve at the top of the leaderboard to repeat his success at the same tournament four years ago.

Pieters carded four birdies on the front nine and produced some key par saves coming home to finish on 19 under, one stroke ahead of Adri Arnaus.

While it is a fourth European Tour title, this is his first since 2016, when he was victorious at the Made in Denmark on the way to earning a captain's pick for Darren Clarke's Ryder Cup squad that lost to the United States at Hazeltine.

"I'm relieved. It's been a long time – it's been three years since I last won," Pieters told the European Tour website.

"It feels good to win again. I never doubted myself but it's just been a long road of not feeling that great with the golf swing. It feels good to get back on track again and get another win."

Spaniard Arnaus finished alone in second place after matching Pieters' 69, while 2018 champion Andrea Pavan signed for a 65 to earn a share of third place, joining Sam Horsfield on 16 under.

Midway leader Edoardo Molinari failed to mount a challenge, however, as the Italian carded a three-over 75 that included three bogeys after the turn.

Related items

  • Rozner & Detry join Hill in share of Mauritius lead Rozner & Detry join Hill in share of Mauritius lead

    There is a three-way tie at the top of the Mauritius Open leaderboard going into the final round after Saturday surges from Antoine Rozner and Thomas Detry.

    Calum Hill had held a one-shot lead after 36 holes, but saw that advantage evaporate at Heritage Golf Club.

    Rozner, who had been two off the pace, carded a six-under-par 66 that included an eagle at the fifth and moved him level with Hill, who went round in 68.

    Only a birdie-birdie finish – the second a monster putt – kept Hill in a share of the lead at the end of a round in which he struggled to match the scoring he produced in his 64 on Friday.

    "It was nice to have a couple of birdies to finish off and sneak back into a tie for the lead," Hill said in quotes reported the European Tour. "Happy with how it finished off. It was similar to my morning round [on Friday], wasn't much wind then either. The scoring was good out there if you played well."

    Detry sunk seven birdies as he struck a five-under 67 to move to 16 under, with each of the trio eyeing their first win on the European Tour.

    Rasmus Hojgaard and Sihwan Kim are a shot off the pace, with Renato Paratore and Brandon Stone a stroke further back.

  • Penalised Reed did not intend to improve lie Penalised Reed did not intend to improve lie

    Patrick Reed stressed he did not intend to improve his lie in a bunker at the Hero World Challenge after being awarded a two-stroke penalty.

    The Texan was penalised for his actions on the 11th hole at the Albany Golf Club in The Bahamas, as video footage showed him twice hacking away sand during practice swings.

    Golf's rules state that players cannot improve their ability to play a shot by "removing or pressing down sand or loose soil".

    Reed was informed of the penalty shortly after his round, and the former Masters champion goes into the final 18 holes three shots back from leader Gary Woodland.

    "It was in a full footprint and I felt my club was that far behind the ball when I was taking a practice swing," Reed said. "It was obviously hitting a bit of sand, though I didn't feel any drag.

    "But when they brought it up for me [on the TV] I definitely saw it drag and, because of that, it is a two-shot penalty even though I didn't feel like it would have affected my lie.

    "Every time I get in one of those bunkers I am scared to get my club close to it [the ball]. I accept the two-shot penalty, even though there was not any intent as I was far enough away.

    "I think with a different camera angle they would have seen it was not improving the lie as I was far enough away from the golf ball.

    "I don’t ever put the club directly behind the ball in a situation like that as I am scared of it moving. Intent is a big part but with only one camera angle it is a 50-50 battle when you are being assessed for anything like that.

    "I told them there was no intent and it was far enough away from the ball, but they didn't have another camera angle to show that and they felt it might have been improving the lie.

    "At the end of the day you have got to let things roll off your shoulders and I still have one round to play tomorrow. If I stew over something, it is my word against their word and because they only have one camera angle, I don't really have a choice.

    "After seeing it brush some sand, they thought that was a breach and, in the Rules of Golf, if you improve your lie, it is a penalty. At the end of the day you have to accept it and move on."

  • Jones extends Australian Open lead Jones extends Australian Open lead

    Matt Jones moved a step closer to winning the Australian Open for a second time after extending his lead to three strokes at the end of the third round.

    Jones entered the penultimate day with a one-shot advantage in Sydney, however, the Australian golfer moved clear on Saturday.

    At The Australian Golf Club, 2015 champion Jones carded a three-under-par 68 to stretch his advantage heading into Sunday's final round.

    Jones posted five birdies and two bogeys to end the day 13 under through 54 holes, ahead of American Cameron Tringale (69).

    "I'm sure I can draw on it. I haven't won a lot of golf in my life," Jones told reporters when asked if having already won an Australian Open makes Sunday's round a bit easier.

    "I've won the Houston Open, won a couple of other smaller tournaments and then the Australian Open, but it's only four years past and I'll draw on some of that experience tomorrow, of course."

    Internationals Paul Casey (71) and Louis Oosthuizen (70), and amateur Takumi Kanaya, are four shots off the pace.

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.