Khadija Shaw brace, Jody Brown decider shuts out Chile in Reggae country

By March 04, 2019
Khadija Shaw Khadija Shaw

A brace from talismanic Reggae Girl, Khadija Shaw helped Jamaica to a 3-2 win over Chile in the second of two friendlies between the teams at the Montego Bay Sports Complex in St James on Sunday. 

The Jamaicans had won the first of the two friendly encounters, 1-0, at the National Stadium on Thursday and came into this game brimming with confidence in the knowledge they could have scored more in that game.

But the Jamaicans got off to the worst possible start when Maria Jose Rojas scored from close range in the 21st minute of play.

The Reggae Girlz did not stay behind long though, as Shaw’s right footed shot from the centre of the box nestled in the bottom right hand corner of the Chilean goal in the 23rd minute.

The Reggae Girlz would then put themselves ahead just 10 minutes later when Shaw, put through by Tiffany Cameron, made no mistake with a right footed effort from the right side of the box.

The Reggae Girlz continued to press but Chile never looked out of the game in the second half, so when Karen Araya’s right-footed shot from outside the area went past the Jamaican custodian in the 58th minute, there was no surprise.

In fact, two minutes earlier, Araya struck over the bar from just outside the box, even as Shaw and Tiffany Cameron made things difficult for the Chilean defence.

In the 52nd minute, Rosario Balaceda had won a free kick and from the ensuing play, Javiera Toro’s shot forced a save from Jamaican custodian, Nichole McLure.

The back and forth between the teams would continue with the scores locked at 2-2 until the 76th minute, when Jody Brown struck home from close range to make the difference.

The result means Chile have now failed to win in their last five starts with a 4-2 penalty loss to Catalonia, marking the only time they have not conceded in regular play throughout those fixtures.

Paul-Andre Walker

Paul-Andre is the Managing Editor at SportsMax.tv. He comes to the role with almost 20 years of experience as journalist. That experience includes all facets of media. He began as a sports Journalist in 2001, quickly moving into radio, where he was an editor before becoming a news editor and then an entertainment editor with one of the biggest media houses in the Caribbean.

Related items

  • 'Let us run' – Fraser-Pryce insists athletes must retire on own terms 'Let us run' – Fraser-Pryce insists athletes must retire on own terms

    Jamaican sprint superstar Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce insists athletes should retire on their own terms not feel pressure to step aside due to factors like aging.

    With sprinting and sports in general often considered the domain of younger athlete, Fraser-Pryce became one of several current stars willing to buck that trend after capturing gold at the Doha World Championships last year.  In the process, she became the oldest woman to ever win 100m gold at a global championship.  The 33-year-old also became the only sprinter to be crowned world champion over the 100m four times (2009, 2013, 2015 and 2019) and the first woman to hold dual world and Olympic titles on two separate occasions.

    With 10-years having passed since she made her debut as a 21-year-old at the 2008 Olympic Games, her achievements are as much a testament to her longevity as much as it is to her talent.

    “The last time I won this award was 2015 and to be here over a decade later still representing the unique legacy that we have here for Jamaica in sprinting and athletics is a huge honour,” Fraser-Pryce said.

    “I hope that with this award a lot more athletes can understand that there is so much more to us as athletes and so much more to give.  You decide when its time to go,” she added.

    Fraser-Pryce registered another milestone two years ago when she took time off from the sport to have her first child.

     

  • Zidane insists VAR was right to rule out De Jong goal Zidane insists VAR was right to rule out De Jong goal

    Zinedine Zidane believes it was the right decision to rule out a Luuk de Jong goal in Real Madrid's 2-1 victory over Sevilla on Saturday.

    Madrid moved top of LaLiga as two goals from Casemiro secured all three points at the Santiago Bernabeu, despite De Jong having briefly made it 1-1 in the second half.

    The striker thought he had given Sevilla the lead half an hour in, but his header was disallowed following a VAR check, with referee Juan Martinez Munuera instead penalising Nemanja Gudelj for blocking Eder Militao in the build-up.

    Sevilla head coach Julen Lopetegui was aghast at the decision and director of football Monchi claimed he would have taken the team off the pitch had they seen a goal disallowed for a second time when VAR was used to check a possible handball by Munir El Haddadi.

    Zidane, though, sees little reason to feel the decisions changed the game.

    "What I can say is that I saw the incident and it's a block, there's a foul, the referee saw it on VAR, and he gave the foul," the Madrid boss told reporters.

    "For the second, there's a hand, he doesn't give it. I can't explain anything, and I never get into evaluating these things. It's for the referee to decide.

    "Sometimes these things go against you and sometimes in your favour. It's a difficult job. It's for them to decide.

    "For me, there's a block, it's a foul and it's really normal."

    When asked about Monchi's comments, Zidane replied: "I don't think the referee was that decisive. He did what he had to do.

    "There's a hand for their goal, but that wasn't given. What can I say? I'm not going to get into it.

    "It's a complicated game for everyone. We played against a good team, but the result is logical for what happened on the pitch.

    "What he said is his responsibility. It's not for me to say anything. In the end, it's the referee who decides.

    "What he said seems a little strong to me, but I'm not going to prevent the Sevilla sporting director from speaking."

    Zidane went on to praise the performance of Casemiro, who proved Madrid's unlikely hero by scoring twice in the same game for the first time in his career with the club.

    "Good, because in the end he got two goals and that's not usual," he said of Casemiro's performance. "I'm happy for him. We can make the difference in attack with any player."

  • I'd have taken the team off! Sevilla rage against VAR after loss at Real Madrid I'd have taken the team off! Sevilla rage against VAR after loss at Real Madrid

    Sevilla director of football Monchi was incensed by VAR's intervention in the defeat to Real Madrid, claiming he would have walked his team off the pitch had Luuk de Jong seen a second goal disallowed.

    Zinedine Zidane's Madrid side claimed a 2-1 victory at the Santiago Bernabeu, with Casemiro scoring either side of a De Jong strike to send the hosts to the top of LaLiga.

    Sevilla thought they had taken the lead in the first half through De Jong's header, only for the goal to be disallowed when a VAR check prompted referee Juan Martinez Munuera to penalise Nemanja Gudelj for blocking Eder Militao.

    Monchi was left furious by the decision and suggested he would have taken matters into his own hands had VAR intervened again when a possible handball by Munir El Haddadi before De Jong's finish was checked.

    "Everyone saw the action. There's no footballing, technical or tactical analysis after such a clear incident that defines the game," Monchi told Movistar.

    "There's nothing more to analyse about it. It's absurd.

    "If they had ruled out the second goal, I would have come down to the pitch and taken the team off.

    "We leave here satisfied with the game despite the defeat because Sevilla are a very big team. We're angry, outraged, and... I stop there."

    Head coach Julen Lopetegui insisted there was no clear reason why Sevilla's opening goal should have been ruled out.

    "I feel sad. When you lose a game, you're sad," Lopetegui said.

    "We played quite a good first half. We deactivated Madrid, we scored an absolutely legal goal.

    "I don't know if 'shame' is the right word. If I said that [at the time], it's not appropriate, but there's no reason to disallow the goal. We've seen it and it was legal.

    "It's a great goal, a play we worked on throughout the week and I still don't know why it was ruled out."

© 2020 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.