Just the Facts: Sydney Cricket Ground history quiz

By George Davis and Lance Whittaker January 02, 2019

With the final Test of India vs Australia set for the SCG.  We decided to test our hosts' knowledge of the historic ground

Related items

  • Kohli and Williamson display mutual respect as India and Black Caps prepare for battle Kohli and Williamson display mutual respect as India and Black Caps prepare for battle

    Opposing captains Kane Williams and Virat Kohli were full of praise for each other ahead of New Zealand's five-match ODI series against India.

    The Black Caps, ranked third in the world, host the side one place above them in the rankings over what promises to be a thrilling couple of weeks.

    In Kohli, India boast the ICC's top-ranked ODI batsman, while earlier on Tuesday he completed a clean sweep in being named ICC Cricketer of the Year to go alongside his awards in the Test and 50-over formats.

    And Williamson knows his side have their work cut out against a man who averaged a staggering 133.55 in ODIs in 2018.

    "Someone like Virat is certainly a player I admire and enjoy watching and he's pushing the boundaries of the game so that's brilliant," said Williamson, who was included in the Test Team of the Year.

    "He's a respectful guy and I've known him for a very long time but as a player, obviously, [he's] world class and our focus is more about that and his cricketing ability and how we can combat him as best as we can.

    "He's always a challenge to come up against and is someone who is most admired in terms of how he goes about his cricket and he's formidable in his run scoring so he's definitely a player of note to try to shut down."

    And Kohli had kinds words for his opposite number in return ahead of Wednesday's opening ODI in Napier.

    "Williamson is easily one of the best players in the world. So easy on the eye, great to watch and I personally enjoy his batting and when he is on song he is easily one of the most attractive batsmen to watch," the India skipper said.

    "He is always going to be a solid player for New Zealand purely because of what all he has done over the years in all three formats.

    "He more or less makes the team win when he is scoring runs, so that tells you about his awareness about the game and hence he is leading the side and guiding it in the right direction. So Kane will be a factor but at the same time Rosco [Taylor] and other guys as well.

    "You can't take anyone for granted and their batting revolves around Kane and Ross in ODIs especially, the other guys bat around them and we are aware of that and working on our plans."

  • Kohli makes history with ICC awards sweep Kohli makes history with ICC awards sweep

    India captain Virat Kohli made history with a clean sweep of three major ICC awards on Tuesday.

    After enjoying an incredible 2018, Kohli was named the ICC Cricketer of the Year, Men's Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year.

    The 30-year-old becomes the first player to win all three top awards, while he was also named captain of the Test and ODI teams.

    Kohli scored 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08 in 13 Tests last year, while he managed 1,202 at an average of 133.55 in 14 ODIs.

    "It feels amazing. It's a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time as myself performing," he said.

    "Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game.

    "To be rewarded in this manner is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing in consistent performances.

    "From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation."

    South Africa paceman Kagiso Rabada finished second to Kohli for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy – awarded to the Cricketer of the Year – and for the Test prize.

    Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan was runner-up for the ODI award.

    Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)
    Test Player of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)
    ODI Player of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)
    Emerging Player of the Year: Rishabh Pant (India)
    Women's Cricketer of the Year: Smriti Mandhana (India)
    Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year: Alyssa Healy (Australia)
    Test Team of the Year: Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Virat Kohli (c) (India), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Henry Nicholls (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (wk) (India), Jason Holder (West Indies), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan).
    ODI Team of the Year: Rohit Sharma (India), Jonny Bairstow (England), Virat Kohli (c) (India), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (wk) (England), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Jasprit Bumrah (India).

  • Zone Blitz: Given the consistency of his performances, why are the Windies selectors overlooking Rahkeem Cornwall? Zone Blitz: Given the consistency of his performances, why are the Windies selectors overlooking Rahkeem Cornwall?
© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.