Russell, Powell lift Warriors to maiden T10 title

By Sports Desk December 02, 2018

The Windies duo of Rovman Powell and Andre Russell powered fired the Northern Warriors to a 22-run win over Pakhtoons and the 2018 T10 League title on Sunday.

Powell launched six 6s and 8 fours in an unbeaten 61 run stand from 25 balls, which saw the Warriors post 140 for 3 before restricting the Pakhtoons to 118 for 7.  Russell faced 12 balls and scored a quickfire 38 that included three 4s and for 6s.

Earlier openers Lendl Simmons and Nicholas Pooran, who ended the tournament highest runs scorer with 324 in 8 matches, had failed to fire.  Simmons was dismissed for 5 off four deliveries after being bowled by Mohammad Irfan.  Pooran was caught by Sohail Khan off the bowling of Sharafuddin Ashraf.  Former West Indies skipper Darren Sammy also made a contribution with 14 from 9.

In response, Andre Fletcher made an industrious 37 from 18 balls before being caught by Khary Pierre off the bowling CJ Green.  Fletcher ended as the tournament’s second highest scorer with 304 in eight matches.

Chris Green (2-11) and Hardus Viljoen (2-24) starred with the ball for the Warriors who claimed their maiden title.

Related items

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.