Guyana Jaguars claim fifth consecutive crown after Leewards loss

By Sports Desk March 15, 2019
Guyana Jaguars. Guyana Jaguars.

Guyana Jaguars were officially crowned regional champions for a fifth consecutive season after second place Leeward Islands Hurricanes failed to get full points.

Heading into Thursday’s fixtures needing an outright win to keep its slim hope of catching Guyana alive, the Hurricanes were bundled out for 90 in the first innings.  The Barbados Pride then made 154 to claim first innings points.  The Guyanese ended the last round on 154.2 points, following a six-wicket win over Trinidad and Tobago.  Heading into the match the Leeward Islands started the match on 132 at the start of the match.

The team would have needed to not only beat Barbados but also getting the available bonus points.  This season, Guyana's run to the top was headlined by solid contributions with the bat from Anthony Bramble (580 runs), Tagenarine Chanderpaul (542) and captain Leon Johnson (480), while left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul (42 wickets) and medium pacer Romario Shepherd (37) did the bulk of the work with the ball.  Guyana was the first team in the Cricket West Indies Professional Cricket League franchise era to achieve the feat.


© 2020 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.