GCB president questions experience of Skerritt/Shallow ticket, hints at political interference

By March 14, 2019

President of the Guyana Cricket Board Anand Sanasie has questioned whether the team of Ricky Skerritt is experienced enough to lead Cricket West Indies into the future.

Skerritt and Dr Kishore Shallow have thrown their hat into the ring, hoping to unseat Dave Cameron and Emmanuel Nanthan at the executive elections and AGM set for March 24 in Jamaica.

However, Sanasie, who is firmly behind the incumbents, is not sure the challengers have enough experience, telling Stabroek News in Guyana that it was absurd for Skerritt and Kishore, who has not yet completed a term as a CWI Director, to want to be at the helm of the board with little to no experience.

In the initial stages of his campaign, Skerritt accused the CWI of spending too much money on the president. However, Sanasie poured cold water on the assertion saying Cameron has been afforded the same luxuries as past presidents.

Sanasie said Cameron has been more proactive in the management of West Indies cricket.

Sanasie suggested that Skerritt did not seem to have a problem with Cameron’s leadership of CWI until he was appointed by CARICOM as their representative.

He also suggested that there might be some political influence behind Skerritt’s challenge to the incumbents.

Skerritt’s bid has been lauded by Prime Minister Keith Gonsalves, who believes that the former Windies team manager is a suitable candidate to lead CWI.

While speaking with Stabroek, Sanasie suggested that the CARICOM leaders should leave matters concerning cricket to those elected to do so.

“My take on it is that CARICOM has their work to do. I would say respectfully, yes, it is a public good, yes, it is being run across the region and like most sporting organisations, we answer to an international body and comply with their structure,” he said. “And, while you have to be accountable, the international community does not look good on political interference and they have to be very careful how they go about doing that but you cannot co-mingle with politics so that you end up with Prime Ministers picking the squad, you can make decisions, advise, assist.”

Leighton Levy

Leighton Levy is a journalist with 28 years’ experience covering crime, entertainment, and sports. He joined the staff at SportsMax.TV as a content editor two years ago and is enjoying the experience of developing sports content and new ideas. At SportsMax.tv he is pursuing his true passion - sports.

Related items

  • Did umpire error gift England the ICC World Cup? Did umpire error gift England the ICC World Cup?
  • Morgan will be up for T20 World Cup - Bayliss Morgan will be up for T20 World Cup - Bayliss

    Trevor Bayliss expects Eoin Morgan to want to lead England into next year's T20 World Cup amid discussion over whether he will remain as captain following their dramatic 50-over World Cup triumph at Lord's on Sunday.

    England lifted the trophy for the first time as they claimed an incredible win over New Zealand, prevailing on number of boundaries after the scores finished tied following each side's 50 overs and then a Super Over.

    The successful end to England's four-year journey to world supremacy on the ODI stage, the vision for which was laid out by Morgan after their humiliating 2015 campaign, has led to talk of the Irish-born batsman possibly stepping down as skipper.

    However, Bayliss, for whom the victory marked his final white-ball game in charge, believes Morgan will want to stay on and try to guide England to another world title in Australia.

    As England continued their celebrations at The Oval on Monday, Bayliss said: "There is a T20 World Cup coming up in 12 months which I am sure he will be more than up for. [But] that will be an individual decision for him.

    "Morgs is the leader of not just the guys in the team but off the field as well. He is the one who has really driven this forward.

    "I think the rest of the boys try and run through a brick wall for him and the effort that Ben Stokes put in yesterday was just an example of that."

    Bayliss was not fully convinced he could bring England's dismal record at World Cups to an end when he was appointed four years ago, but the Australian will leave his post after the Ashes vindicated for a steadfast commitment to aggressive and positive cricket.

    "I wasn't sure [when I started] but it was certainly a country with a long history of cricket and I knew that they desperately wanted to do better than they had been doing," Bayliss added. "[I was told] no stone would be left unturned in an effort to get that World Cup.

    "It's justification for how we went about it for the last four years. At different times we have copped a bit of criticism but we had an end goal in mind and this is the result."

  • Giles uninterested by Cricket World Cup final 'extra run' claims Giles uninterested by Cricket World Cup final 'extra run' claims

    England director of cricket Ashley Giles is uninterested in claims they were erroneously given an extra run in their incredible World Cup final win over New Zealand.

    The tournament hosts lifted the trophy for the first time courtesy of having struck more boundaries than the Black Caps after the scores were tied at the end of 50 overs and then a Super Over.

    However, arguably the pivotal moment in a bewitching contest came with the fourth ball of England's final over as, after hitting a full toss to deep midwicket, Ben Stokes inadvertently deflected Martin Guptill's throw to the fence as he ran back for two.

    England were awarded six runs to take them within three of victory, falling one short but eventually prevailing on boundaries after both teams scored 15 in the Super Over.

    But MCC rule 19:8 states that additional runs to a boundary from an overthrow or wilful act of fielder can only be awarded if the two batsmen have crossed at the time of the throw.

    Stokes and Adil Rashid had not crossed when Guptill released the ball, and five-time ICC umpire of the year Simon Taufel said England should have only been awarded five runs, describing the six as a "clear mistake" and an "error of judgment", though he conceded the difficulty of officiating such a freak turn of events in the heat of the moment.

    That is of no concern to Giles, who when asked whether the extra run mattered to him replied: "Not really.

    "You could argue the last ball that [Trent] Boult bowled was a full toss on leg stump and if Stokes' hadn't just been looking for two he probably would've banged it out of the ground anyway.

    "We are world champions; we have got the trophy and we intend to keep it."

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.