Rovman Powell to captain Windies for Bangladesh ODI series

By December 04, 2018

Rovman Powell will captain the Windies side for their three-match ODI series against Bangladesh on December 9, 11, and 14.

Due to the absence of regular Captain Jason Holder, CWI’s Board of Directors has approved Rovman Powell as interim captain, as the WINDIES seek to reverse the recent 2-1 home series defeat in July 2018.

Meanwhile, Darren Bravo, Carlos Brathwaite and Roston Chase are recalled to the 15-man squad that also sees the retention of recent debutants Fabian Allen, Chandrapaul Hemraj and Oshane Thomas.

 “With two more ODI Series before the 2019 World Cup, the Bangladesh series allows us to narrow our search for our final 15-member World Cup squad,” said Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne.
“In the absence of the captain, Jason Holder, the panel believes the team can still be competitive, especially with the return of Darren Bravo.

“Darren’s experience will add value to the batting, which in turn will place selection pressure for spots in the squad. The selection panel, therefore, takes this opportunity to wish the team much success in Bangladesh.”

The full team is as follows: Rovman Powell (Captain),  Marlon Samuels, Devendra Bishoo, Roston Chase,  Chandrapaul Hemraj,  Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Carlos Brathwaite, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Fabian Allen, Kemar Roach, Sunil Ambris and Oshane Thomas.

The first two matches will be played in Mirpur while the third will be played in Sylhet where the first T20 match will be played on December 17.

The teams will then return to Mirpur from the final two T20s on December 20 and 22.

Leighton Levy

Leighton Levy is a journalist with 28 years’ experience covering crime, entertainment, and sports. He joined the staff at SportsMax.TV as a content editor two years ago and is enjoying the experience of developing sports content and new ideas. At he is pursuing his true passion - sports.

Related items

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.