Kohli century in vain as Khawaja keeps Australia alive

By Sports Desk March 08, 2019

Usman Khawaja's maiden ODI hundred and a fine spell of spin bowling from Adam Zampa saw Australia beat India by 32 runs to keep the five-match series alive.

Australia went into the third game 2-0 down but they halved that deficit following an excellent all-round performance as India failed to reach their 314-run target.

Khawaja had been unable to build on solid starts in the first two matches but he kicked on this time, working the ball on both sides of the wicket on his way to three figures.

He was ably assisted by captain Aaron Finch (93), Glenn Maxwell (47) and Marcus Stoinis (31 not out), but their 313-5 looked like being below par when Virat Kohli began to fire.

After a shaky start to their reply, India got ahead of the run-rate thanks to the ever-reliable Kohli – who recorded his second successive century in the series.

It was in vain, though, as he again fell to Zampa and Australia held on to secure a narrow win, giving them hope of winning the series in the final two matches.

Finch and Khawaja immediately made Kohli rue his decision to put Australia in as they set about the India bowlers, the pair sharing a 193-run stand for the opening wicket.

While Khawaja employed a mixture of nurdling and big hitting, Finch was not waiting around, the long-on boundary proving a particular favourite for the skipper.

A century looked inevitable but he was trapped lbw by Kuldeep Yadav seven runs short, however Khawaja had no such problems reaching the milestone and he reached 100 with a clip off his hips.

Maxwell picked up where Finch left off and even hit the sightscreen with one huge maximum.

Stoinis and Alex Carey (21no) lifted Australia above 300 and the early wickets of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan looked to have given them the upper hand.

However, Kohli's presence quickly wrestled the advantage back for the hosts as he crashed 16 boundaries and one six, and posted a 41st ODI hundred - moving him eight behind record-holder Sachin Tendulkar.

Zampa took plenty of punishment from the skipper but he had the last laugh, dismissing Kohli for the third time in five matches with a googly.

India were only 94 behind when Kohli departed in the 38th over but the lower order were unable to get them over the line as they were bowled out for 281 with 10 balls remaining.

Related items

  • Did umpire error gift England the ICC World Cup? Did umpire error gift England the ICC World Cup?
  • Morgan will be up for T20 World Cup - Bayliss Morgan will be up for T20 World Cup - Bayliss

    Trevor Bayliss expects Eoin Morgan to want to lead England into next year's T20 World Cup amid discussion over whether he will remain as captain following their dramatic 50-over World Cup triumph at Lord's on Sunday.

    England lifted the trophy for the first time as they claimed an incredible win over New Zealand, prevailing on number of boundaries after the scores finished tied following each side's 50 overs and then a Super Over.

    The successful end to England's four-year journey to world supremacy on the ODI stage, the vision for which was laid out by Morgan after their humiliating 2015 campaign, has led to talk of the Irish-born batsman possibly stepping down as skipper.

    However, Bayliss, for whom the victory marked his final white-ball game in charge, believes Morgan will want to stay on and try to guide England to another world title in Australia.

    As England continued their celebrations at The Oval on Monday, Bayliss said: "There is a T20 World Cup coming up in 12 months which I am sure he will be more than up for. [But] that will be an individual decision for him.

    "Morgs is the leader of not just the guys in the team but off the field as well. He is the one who has really driven this forward.

    "I think the rest of the boys try and run through a brick wall for him and the effort that Ben Stokes put in yesterday was just an example of that."

    Bayliss was not fully convinced he could bring England's dismal record at World Cups to an end when he was appointed four years ago, but the Australian will leave his post after the Ashes vindicated for a steadfast commitment to aggressive and positive cricket.

    "I wasn't sure [when I started] but it was certainly a country with a long history of cricket and I knew that they desperately wanted to do better than they had been doing," Bayliss added. "[I was told] no stone would be left unturned in an effort to get that World Cup.

    "It's justification for how we went about it for the last four years. At different times we have copped a bit of criticism but we had an end goal in mind and this is the result."

  • Giles uninterested by Cricket World Cup final 'extra run' claims Giles uninterested by Cricket World Cup final 'extra run' claims

    England director of cricket Ashley Giles is uninterested in claims they were erroneously given an extra run in their incredible World Cup final win over New Zealand.

    The tournament hosts lifted the trophy for the first time courtesy of having struck more boundaries than the Black Caps after the scores were tied at the end of 50 overs and then a Super Over.

    However, arguably the pivotal moment in a bewitching contest came with the fourth ball of England's final over as, after hitting a full toss to deep midwicket, Ben Stokes inadvertently deflected Martin Guptill's throw to the fence as he ran back for two.

    England were awarded six runs to take them within three of victory, falling one short but eventually prevailing on boundaries after both teams scored 15 in the Super Over.

    But MCC rule 19:8 states that additional runs to a boundary from an overthrow or wilful act of fielder can only be awarded if the two batsmen have crossed at the time of the throw.

    Stokes and Adil Rashid had not crossed when Guptill released the ball, and five-time ICC umpire of the year Simon Taufel said England should have only been awarded five runs, describing the six as a "clear mistake" and an "error of judgment", though he conceded the difficulty of officiating such a freak turn of events in the heat of the moment.

    That is of no concern to Giles, who when asked whether the extra run mattered to him replied: "Not really.

    "You could argue the last ball that [Trent] Boult bowled was a full toss on leg stump and if Stokes' hadn't just been looking for two he probably would've banged it out of the ground anyway.

    "We are world champions; we have got the trophy and we intend to keep it."

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.