Calabar High sprinter Tyreke Wilson commits to Florida State

By April 11, 2018
Tyreke Wilson will be attending Florida State University in the fall. Tyreke Wilson will be attending Florida State University in the fall.

Tyreke Wilson, the 2018 Class I Boys 100 metre champion at last month’s GraceKennedy/ISSA Boys and Girls Championships at the National Stadium in Kingston, will be competing for Florida State University (FSU) in the fall.

Wilson, who won the 100m dash in 10.21s, has signed a letter of intent to attend the university come August. The university announced the athlete on its social media platform this week. “The #Noles welcomes @tyrekewilson_to the family, FSU Track and Field posted on Twitter.

The sprinter, who turned 18 in January, had an outstanding high school career while at Calabar High School in Kingston.

He set the Champs Class 3 (u14) 200m record (21.72) in 2014 and was a double silver medalist in the 100m and 200m the following year in Class 2 (u16). However, an injury in 2016 limited his participation at Champs that year.

In 2017, he won a bronze medal in the 100m at the World Youth Championships in Nairobi, Kenya and in 2018, crowned his high school career with the 100m title at champs in March. He was also a member of Calabar High School’s triumphant 4x100m team.

At FSU, Wilson will feel right at home as FSU track has a number of Jamaicans on its roster. They include sprinter Raheem Robinson, Calabar High alum Edward Clarke, Christoff Bryan, and Gleneve Grange among others.

Leighton Levy

Leighton Levy is a journalist with 28 years’ experience covering crime, entertainment, and sports. He joined the staff at SportsMax.TV as a content editor two years ago and is enjoying the experience of developing sports content and new ideas. At he is pursuing his true passion - sports.

Related items

SportsMax Zone

Latest Tweets

Tamim fires Bangladesh to win over Windies. Click on link below to read full story.
Could we be seeing the rise of a new star sprinter for Jamaica? See story here:…
Watch highlights of Day One of the Muller Anniversary Games! ... Six men dip below 10 seconds in quickest race of t…
Follow SportsMax on Twitter
© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.