T&T, led by brilliant Carter, enjoy medal push at CAC Games

By July 23, 2018
Dylan Carter Dylan Carter

Trinidad and Tobago have enjoyed some fabulous performances at the 23rd Central American and Caribbean Games in Barranquilla, Colombia so far, none more so than the exploits in the pool from Dylan Carter. 

Carter has claimed two gold medals in CAC Championship records. One of those records was also a T&T national record, his 50-metre butterfly clocking of 23.11 counting as the fourth fastest this year and 24th fastest of all time.

To add to Carter’s exploits, T&T have been fantastic on the cycling track, winning the men’s team sprint through the efforts of Nicholas Paul, Kwesi Browne and Njisane Phillip.

Paul was at it again on the track, claiming bronze in the Men’s keirin. The T&T team weren’t done with cycling yet either, as Teneil Campbell also got bronze for the country, securing third in the Women’s Scratch final, finishing behind Cuba’s Marlies Mejias and Mexico’s Lizbeth Salazar.

Felice Aisha Chow also added to T&T’s windfall, having copped a silver medal in the Women’s single Sculls rowing competition.

Chow finished the event in 9:26.24, behind Cuba’s Yariulvis Cobas, who stopped the clock in 9:13.05. Naiara Arrillaga of Mexico finished third in 9:41.22.

Paul-Andre Walker

Paul-Andre is the Managing Editor at SportsMax.tv. He comes to the role with almost 20 years of experience as journalist. That experience includes all facets of media. He began as a sports Journalist in 2001, quickly moving into radio, where he was an editor before becoming a news editor and then an entertainment editor with one of the biggest media houses in the Caribbean.

Related items

  • Sagan's Milan-San Remo dream continues to elude him Sagan's Milan-San Remo dream continues to elude him

    Peter Sagan's quest to win Milan-San Remo came up short again as the Slovak had to settle for fourth place behind eventual winner Julian Alaphilippe.

    Sagan has raced the first monument of the year on nine occasions but has never taken the victory, despite the route often seeming to favour his all-around qualities.

    Twice he has finished second – in 2013 and 2017 – while Saturday's fourth was the third time he has finished in that position just off the podium places.

    It was a frustrating day for the Bora-Hansgrohe rider, who conceded Alaphilippe was just too strong in the closing stages.

    "I was close, but again not first," he told reporters. "I felt quite well, not at my usual form, but better than the previous weeks.

    "The finale of this year's Milano-San Remo played out as I had expected. A big group reached the bottom of the Poggio and then a strong pace was set at the front with a number of attacks.

    "I knew I had to be there, so I jumped in and closed the attacks when they happened. We split the peloton and we were about ten riders at the top of the Poggio. 

    "The bunch wasn't able to bring us back in the descent, so it was a very reduced sprint. I would say it was a strange, very slow one and the final attacks were launched quite late. 

    "I was squeezed in and when I found space to sprint, it wasn't enough.

    "Alaphillipe was just very strong, he had two bikes lengths and it was hard to get him back."

  • Alaphilippe claims first monument with Milan-San Remo win Alaphilippe claims first monument with Milan-San Remo win

    Julian Alaphilippe continued his remarkable 2019 by winning his first monument with victory in the Milan-San Remo.

    The Frenchman went into Saturday's 291-kilometre classic with six wins to his name this year.

    And the Deceuninck–Quick-Step rider duly made it seven with a late surge in a chaotic sprint finish, emerging victorious in a classic for the fourth time in his career.

    Oliver Naesen was second, claiming his first podium in a monument, ahead of Michal Kwiatkowski and Peter Sagan.

    The day's breakaway was finally reeled in on the penultimate climb when Fausto Masnada was caught.

    A combination of an increase in pace on the final climb up the Poggio and attacks from numerous riders saw the race splinter again, with Zdenek Stybar and Philippe Gilbert working hard to get Alaphilippe in position. 

    The Frenchman followed Kwiatkowski in attacking with 6.4km remaining and he was in a group of 11 who entered the final kilometre after the descent with victory in his sights.

    None of those riders seemed sure when to launch a final attack, but Alaphilippe had the legs when he finally went for it, emphatically punching the air as he crossed the line.

    "It's difficult to realise what I did and what my team did," Alaphilippe said after the race. "They protected me all day. Tim Declercq was pulling all race and in the final we controlled and we make the race harder and I have to do no mistakes.

    "I was really focused to control the attack and with 600m to go when [Matej] Mohoric went to attack I said its now or never. It's unbelievable - I saw my team-mates after the finish and everybody was crying.

    "I made a big effort at the top of the Poggio to make a big selection and to see what could happen. At the end I was only with strong riders and I tried to recover in the downhill. In the last 2km I said I want to win - no second place.

    Asked what winning a monument meant to him, a clearly emotional Alaphilippe said: "I need time to realise [what I've achieved] - I'm very happy."


    1. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-QuickStep) 06:40:14
    2. Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale) 
    3. Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) 
    4. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) 
    5. Matej Mohoric (Bahrain-Merida) 
    6. Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) 
    7. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar)
    8. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) 
    9. Simon Clarke (EF Education First) 
    10. Matteo Trentin (Mitchelton-Scott)

  • Greipel excited for Tour de France return Greipel excited for Tour de France return

    Andre Greipel hopes to add to his 11 Tour de France stage wins in 2019 after his new team – Arkea Samsic – were handed a wildcard for this year's event.

    Greipel stepped down from the elite level of cycling to join the French team ahead of the new season, his contract with Lotto Soudal having come to an end.

    The German's departure after eight years with the team was confirmed last July during stage 15 of the Tour, a race Greipel had already withdrawn from.

    Moving down to the second tier threatened to deny him a chance to return to the Tour, but he will be at the start in Brussels in July.

    "I learnt the news on the bike. It's great news for us. The Tour has always been a dream. Last year I was disappointed," he told Arkea Samsic's website. 

    "I'm happy to be able to go back to the world's most beautiful race to give everything and get a good result."

    Sprinter Greipel won three stages in the 2012 edition of the race and went one better in 2015, when he finished second in the points classification behind Peter Sagan.

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.