Farquharson breaks thirty-two-year-old 800 record amid almighty battle

By March 30, 2019
Kimar Farquharson Kimar Farquharson

One of the races of the five-day-long ISSA/GraceKennedy Boys’ and Girls’ Athletics Championships was always going to be the class one Boys’ 800 metre and it was. 

Calabar High School’s Kimar Farquharson had his credentials as favourite coming into the event tested when Enid Bennett High School’s Tyrice Taylor had announced himself as a genuine contender, with a 1:49-second clocking at the Corporate Area Development Meet.

Farquharson had pulled up in that race with 150 metres to go and the worry was, he would not recover.

Hogwash, as Farquharson, 1:48.67 seconds, burst through the pair of Taylor, 1:48.91, and Kingston College’s Tarees Rhoden, 1:49.04, to claim victory in a race that looked to have a different winner every time you looked at it.

Farquaharson’s time was breaking the 1:48.84 set by Sherwin Burgess of Vere Technical, all the way back in 1987, and gave the dethroned champions Calabar, some reason to be proud.

It was disappointment for Spot Valley High School’s Tyrese Reid, who was expected to be in the mix for a podium finish, though his 1:51.69 for fifth is nothing to scoff at.

Fourth was Jamaica College’s Rushshane Fullerton, who clocked 1:51.59 in a race where everybody ran below 1:55.

In class two, Kingston College’s Giovauni Henry, 1:52.10 held off the challenge of Jamaica College’s J’Voughnn Blake, 1:52.31, in a final that was also brilliant. St Elizabeth Technical’s Adrian Nethersole was not far off either, finishing in 1:53.51.

In the boys’ class three, Kingston College’s Jaquan Clarke crossed the finish line first in 1:58.50 after closing like a freight train and overhauling probably 40 metres, to just finish ahead of Bellefield High School’s Tavaughn Martin, 1:58.68. Martin looked for all the world a winner, until the final thirty metres.

St Jago High School’s Alex Taylor was third in 2:01.40.

Hydel High School captain, Charokee Young, 2:06.02 highlighted the girls’ 800-metre event, winning the class one category ahead of the special Shaquena Foote of Petersfield, who put on a good fight to finish second in 2:06.85.

Abigail Schaafew of St Mary High School was third in 2:08.83.

In the Girls Class Two 800 metres, Rushana Dwyer of Edwin Allen won in 2:14.03, while Spaldings’ Cheriece Cope was second in 2:15.25, and Daniella Deer, who challenged the eventual winner up until the last few metres, faded to third to leave Holmwood third in 2:15.77.

The Girls Class Three event was a cracker, with Spaldings High School’s 2:16.46 just better than Holmwood Technical’s Jodyann Mitchell’s 2:16.90.

Britana Mullings was third in 2:17.06.

Paul-Andre Walker

Paul-Andre is the Managing Editor at SportsMax.tv. He comes to the role with almost 20 years of experience as journalist. That experience includes all facets of media. He began as a sports Journalist in 2001, quickly moving into radio, where he was an editor before becoming a news editor and then an entertainment editor with one of the biggest media houses in the Caribbean.

Related items

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.