Kingston College's Wayne Pinnock shatters 26-y-o long jump record

By March 27, 2019

Kingston College’s Wayne Pinnock created history when he destroyed the Class I Boys long jump record on Wednesday, day two of the ISSA Grace Kennedy Boys and Girls Championships (Champs) at the National Stadium in Kingston.

In the 109th year of the championships, Pinnock shattered the 26-year-old record of 7.87m that was set by Leon Gordon of Vere Technical in 1993. In doing so, Pinnock became the first athlete to break the eight-metre mark in the long jump at Champs.

He broke the record twice, first with his second jump of 7.95m, which did not last very long.

On his next jump, Pinnock soared past the eight-metre mark to 8.05m, which secured the gold medal and nine valuable points for KC who are hoping to dethrone seven-time defending champions Calabar High School.

Meanwhile, Calabar finished 1-2 in the Boys Class 2 Long Jump final when Jordan Turner set a winning mark of 7.46m. He edged his teammate Luke Brown who was only one centimetre off the winning mark.

Kingston College’s Jaheim Cox with a mark of 7.17m was third and importantly, they picked up key points when Bouwahgjie Nkrumie was fourth with a leap of 7.01m.

In the girls’ competition, Shamella Donaldson won the gold medal with a best mark of 50.70m while Adrienne Adams took the silver medal with a throw of 47.32m.

Marie Forbes of Vere Technical won the bronze medal with a mark of 46.94m

In the Girls Class 2 shot put, Sherene Williams of St. Elizabeth Technical won the gold medal with a throw of 13.94m. Wolmer’s Girls Aaliyah Whyte (13.60m) took the silver medal. Monifa Edwards of defending champion Edwin Allen High was third with a mark of 13.23m.

Leighton Levy

Leighton Levy is a journalist with 28 years’ experience covering crime, entertainment, and sports. He joined the staff at SportsMax.TV as a content editor two years ago and is enjoying the experience of developing sports content and new ideas. At he is pursuing his true passion - sports.

Related items

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.