Three more nominees for Jamaica's Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year

By December 05, 2018

Track and field athlete Hansle Parchment and Shericka Jackson, as well as netballer Shamera Sterling, have been added to the list of nominees for the RJR Sports Foundation 2018 Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards.

The initial announcements were made last week with Fedrick Dacres, O’Dayne Richards, Ronald Levy and Chris Binnie being the nominees for the male award and Alia Atkinson, Aisha Praught-Leer, Shanieka Ricketts, Kimberly Williams, Janieve Russell, Kadijah Shaw, Danniel Thomas-Dodd and Stafanie Taylor for the women.

However, according to the foundation’s board, following a submission from its Selection Committee on Wednesday, it has approved three additional nominees for the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year 2018 awards.

Parchment is the 2018 NACAC 110m hurdles champion and the Commonwealth Games silver medallist while Shericka Jackson, the Commonwealth Games 200m silver medallist and 2018 Netball Fast5 MVP Shamera Sterling, have also added to the list of nominees for the women.

The foundation said further research had helped them determine that the three new nominees meet the criteria for nomination.

The Selection Committee will meet again in early January to determine if there should be any further nominations based on performances between now and the end of the year.

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony at the Jamaica Pegasus on January 18, 2019.

Leighton Levy

Leighton Levy is a journalist with 28 years’ experience covering crime, entertainment, and sports. He joined the staff at SportsMax.TV as a content editor two years ago and is enjoying the experience of developing sports content and new ideas. At he is pursuing his true passion - sports.

Related items

© 2018 SportsMaxTV All Rights Reserved.